Wk. 10 – Artist Conversation – Helen Werner Cox

Snapchat-707230075715045665

Artist: Helen Werner Cox

Exhibition: Silent Screams

Media: Oil pastel, water colors, crayons, markers, Wood

Gallery: Max L. Gatov Gallery West

Snapchat-1105458202033256958

About Helen

Helen Werner COx is currently a grad student in her last year at CSULB. She will be receiving her MFA in Drawing and Painting. Unlike most of the artists that I have met this year, Helen hails from New York somewhere outside of Ithaca, NY. She left to study art in Massachusetts and then went to teach art in middle and high schools for 30 years. She has held a job in education for decades as a teacher and a librarian but it never stopped her from being creative and pursuing her dreams.

Snapchat-1656544991682423906

The lines in her work are rounded. No doubt that this stems from her notion that “Society is trapped in a carousel” and that society is doomed to repeat its mistakes forever. The colors Cox used give the carousel a faded aesthetic which gives viewers the idea that it’s not the carousel’s first spin. There’s depth in her use of color as well. The difference in color between background and foreground provides an extra dimension to each piece with the bright colors you can expect to see on a carousel near the viewers’ eye.

Snapchat-3889146491203794737

Cox believes that society is trapped and doomed to rotate about a fixed point without ever making any real progress. If this is true, it certainly is frightful to think that we are just destined to repeat ourselves. Perhaps this is why the horses are illustrated screaming. . .maybe they, too, realize this truth that cox believes. They seemed to be in pain and their faces were too hard to look at. Maybe this is how much Cox believes society is in trouble. Without progress or any real change, our fate has already been written.

Snapchat-4092997064997294479

Helen Werner Cox made me look at carousels differently. I don’t mind it since she did so with grace with her art. When I walked in I thought that maybe she really liked horses? But after hearing her speak on what it all means, I opened my eyes and began to notice her message in each painting. Just as it’s supposed to do, it spoke to me. I looked inward as an individual in society and noticed that I also live on repeat. That my life is an inanimate horse that’s bound to spin forever and that’s something that I won’t let myself become.

 

Author: MillennialFalcon

Hello, I'm Chris(tian). I enjoy a nice bowl of cereal in solitude and anything that can make me laugh. I'm a film major at CSULB with aspirations to write for the big screen or even the little screen. Lately, I've been feeling TV a bit more so. . .who knows? Nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

